womens-day

Today is a day for all the women around the world. I thought I’d dedicate this day to the women who have greatly impacted my life. Be sure to let those closest to you know how much they mean to you. And never stop fighting for equality for women, because even though it’s much better now, there is always more that needs to happen.
Heres to girl power!

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 11.58.01 AM 
My Mum Janene has been a wonderful mother to me and my sister. She’s been kind, generous and is always there to listen. She has also dedicated her career to improving the lives of people with Intellectual Disabilities. She often puts others before herself. She is an extremely hard worker. From her I got my empathetic side. Like her I have always felt a need to give back to those less fortunate and see everybody as equal. She inspires me everyday and I’m proud to call her my mother.

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 12.02.14 PM

Sheila Simpson is my Grandma. She was a nurse in WWII, she worked when it wasn’t normal for women to, she lost her husband when her children we’re in their late teens and raised them alone from that point, she always had a smile on her face, and she was a very caring person to everyone. In 2003 she lost her battle with Parkinson’s disease and dementia. For about 6 years until her death she and I shared a teddy bear named Sheldon and I still treasure it to this day. I miss her greatly, but I’m very thankful for the time I did have with this beautiful lady.

Screen Shot 2016-03-06 at 12.05.36 PM

This is my other Grandma, Joyce Cootes. Like Sheila she worked when it was frowned upon for women to do so, she wonderfully raised 5 children, and adored her many grandchildren. I have many great memories. She would often get into laughing fits, and in turn that would make everyone laugh with her. She gave the best hugs and always made me feel loved. In 2001 she passed away from Bowel Cancer and I miss her greatly. But I only have lovely memories of a warm, gentle women who always made me smile.

Screen Shot 2016-03-05 at 6.52.55 PM

Gabi is my younger sister. She is only 23 years old and has already ticked so many goals. She has always been naturally talented at everything she touches, but it’s her hard working attitude and positivity that gets her to achieve. She is a professional netballer, her team the QLD Firebirds has been in the Grand Final every year since she started her career, and they won in 2015. She also recently made her debut for Australia. These achievements aren’t the only reason why she inspires me. She has a big heart, always has good advice and she never gives up. I’m very lucky to her a little sister I can look up to.



Header2

Simply Eclare is where I (Emily Simpson) express my thoughts, share the things that bring me joy, give awareness to things that are dear to me and try to inspire others
to live simply.

Twitter: @emily_cs
Instagram: @simplyeclare

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

