Plant-Based

I have been plant based (vegan) for the past few months and I do not regret it at all. In fact it might be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. Because I’m early on and still learning, and finding my way in the vegan lifestyle I am yet to say that I’m a 100% ethical vegan (because that’s not fair to put myself on the same level as someone who hasn’t contributed to harming an animal in 5 years). But what I can say is that I haven’t eaton a single animal product since the end of March. What’s next for me is being cruelty free in all aspects including makeup, toiletries, clothing, accessories, stores I support etc.

A plant-based diet is a way of eating that focuses around whole plant foods including
* fruits & vegetables
* legumes
* grains
* nuts & seeds
* pasta & rice etc
* and zero animal products.

Eating this way is good for your health, the environment and of course the animals.

Health: Eating a plant-based diet has given me more energy, keeps me satisfied for longer periods of time, and just overall makes me feel fantastic. It’s also heaps of fun coming up with new recipes, finding new, nutrious foods to try and much more.

Environment: Lot’s of people don’t know this, but animal killing, farming etc contribute to a lot of the worlds problems. This video explains why. It feels great to know that this decision I have made will have some positive impact on protecting this beautiful planet.

Animal Cruelty: Some people might say “well I didn’t kill the animal, so it’s okay if I eat it” – The problem is even if you didn’t hurt, abuse or kill the animal yourself you’re still supporting the meat and dairy industries. According to a 2010 article by PETA, each vegan saves nearly 200 animals per year. Just from not supporting these companies you are making a difference and saving innocent lives.

I’m not one of those people who likes to tell people what to do. And I’m not forcing anyone to eat a plant-based diet or become vegan. All I want to do is share the facts and hopefully empower someone to head in this direction. And whether it’s for your health, the environment or because you want animal cruelty to cease, it is a good decision to eat plant-based and eventually go 100% ethically vegan.

Here are a few videos that helped me at the beginning of my journey.

Leave a Reply

