One Book A Month in 2017

In 2017 I want to challenge myself. One way I want to do this is to read ATLEAST one book a month. I’ve never been much of a reader, normally I read 1-2 books a year. However, this month I bunkered down on a novel called “Big Little Lies” and now I am beginning to train myself to read everyday. Here are my picks for each month of 2017.

January: Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis – Barbara Leaming (biography) 
I’ve been OBSESSED with learning about The Kennedy extended family for a while now and now that the new film ‘Jackie’ is coming to theatres I feel it’s time to learn more about Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis post her husbands assassination.
February: The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky (novel)
Being a Wallflower myself I feel it’s only fitting that I read this book. Enough said.
March: The Last Anniversary – Liane Moriarty
Since I adored Big Little Lies another Liane Moriarty book had to be on this list right?
April: Autumn – Ali Smith (novel)
This book is a fitting choice for the middle of the season. I can’t wait to drink a cup of tea while reading this book.
May: Eating Animals – Jonathan Safran Foer (memoir)
This month will be over a year since I stopped eating animal based products and became 100% plant based. And in light of this I feel it’s important to explore other perspectives of vegetarianism, factory farming etc.
June: Talking As Fast As I Can – Lauren Graham (autobiography)
My favorite show of all time is Gilmore Girls, no question about it, so of course this year I need to hear from the voice of one of it’s actors, talking about the show and what her experience was like being a vital part of it’s success.
July: The Highly Sensitive Person: How to Survive and Thrive When the World
Overwhelms You – Elaine N Aron (self help)
I feel being at the half way point of the year it’ll be time to get inspired by a self help book. Being a so called “sensitive” person I think this will be an important book to get into.
August: If I Was Your Girl – Meredith Russo (novel)
It’s extremely important to me to see the world from different perspectives. The main character is a young lady who just happened to be born a boy. It’s about wanting to fit in no matter who you are.
September: The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho (novel)
On September 16 I will be jetting off to Vancouver for a month of travelling. I wanted to read a book that was related to this, and the alchemist appears to be the perfect choice.
October: Girls Who Travel: A Novel – Nicole Trilivas (novel)
Similarly to last month, this book will be a good companion while travelling solo.
November: The Power of Now – Eckhart Tolle (self help)
It’s hard to think about 2017 ending but I must to make a decision of what to read. I’ve heard great things about the power of now and I look forward to getting some inspiration for the end of the year.
December: Little Women – Louisa May Alcott (novel)
Little Women is one of my favorite movies, so it only makes sense that I read the original story and as it’s based around Christmas it’ll be the perfect way to end the year.

BONUS: The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis – Lydia Davis (short stories)
When I first decided to read more I knew short stories should be part of it. And after a bit of research it appears that Lydia is a great starting point. It’s 700 pages so throughout the year I will slowly make my way through it.

What books are you going to read next year?

Leave a Reply

