vegan

Happy Veganversary to me! I did it. I have officially been eating a plant based diet, researching and getting educated on the animal agriculture industry, changing what I buy, consciously trying to not contribute to animal suffering, saving water and so on for 12 months.

Because of this I thought it’d be fitting to do the Vegan Tag!

Are you a Vegan?
Yes, and I’m extremely proud of it. Best decision I ever made.

When did you become a vegan?Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 4.13.25 PM
I started transitioning my diet in April 2016 and I’m still on my way to being 100% ethical  vegan (just need to find new shoes that don’t contain leather). But I like to think of May 1st 2016 as my veganversary.

Why did you become a vegan?
Like many it was originally health that was the trigger. Just after watching many youtube video’s it seemed that a whole foods plant based diet was the best decision for my health. I was also just curious because 2 of my cousins we’re vegan and wanted to try it out. But once I started researching I stayed vegan for many other reasons.

How is your life better as a vegan?
More energy
I get to be more experimental with food
I don’t feel guilty
I feel I’m more interesting
Having something to be passionate about
Not contributing or supporting to the harm and exploitation of animals
I don’t feel sick after eating (unless I eat too each)
I enjoy cooking even more
I appreciate food more
The longterm affects to my health will be known in the future

What was the hardest part about becoming vegan?
Just the fact that you have to be very cautious. And explaining myself to others I struggled with at the beginning. I think I expected people to judge it, but soon realised normally people are just curious and have many questions. So that was another difficult part of going vegan. Having the answers to all the questions. I didn’t at the start, and I was really embarrassed by that. That’s why I’ve been educating myself on every aspect of the vegan lifestyle including animal suffering, affects on the environment, affects on health, why the eggs and dairy industry is just as bad as killing animals, and info on why honey, palm oil etc aren’t acceptable etc.

Is it difficult to be vegan?
Nope, not really. It’s actually incredibly exciting and refreshing.Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 5.04.02 PM
I eat way tastier food now then I ever did. There are plenty of vegan alternatives including sausages, “chicken” schnitzel, yoghurts, desserts etc at supermarkets or health food stores. There are also plenty of vegan restaurants where I live. Otherwise there’s almost always something on the menu that is or can be made vegan with a few adjustments. The only difficult part has been finding shoes that don’t contain vegan
leather/are comfortable. I have bad feet that really need support. And anyway, it doesn’t matter if there’s difficult parts. It’s the least I can do for these animals that don’t have many people standing up for them.

Do you let certain things “slide” from time to time? (for example, use/purchase non-vegan items. etc.)
Since becoming vegan I haven’t bought anything for myself that caused or causes harm to an animal. Saying this, I do the grocery shopping for people who aren’t vegan and therefore unfortunately buy a few non-vegan items for them (dairy products mainly). It’s part of how I contribute to the household. I also am still wearing leather footwear. A lot of those things I bought not long before I went vegan and don’t really want to throw the money down the drain, plus I haven’t found shoes that are comfy that are non-leather yet. But I look forward to the day when I find them 🙂

How do you deal with people who are close minded about your lifestyle?
I do get defensive, I have to admit. But I’m getting better at it. Generally even though most of my family and friends aren’t vegan they are supportive of me doing it. At the end of the day 95% of people in the world aren’t vegan for a number of reasons. Some don’t care about animals at all, or think God put them on the earth for us to eat etc. But the majority just aren’t educated on it and haven’t made the connection that what their eating or drinking used to have a beating heart to. So I can’t judge them for not understanding or being close minded. So I just try to bring up facts about the cruelest Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 4.56.22 PMindustry in the world (if they ask for it/appear interested) and hope that something sticks. I suspect atleast 50% of people if they knew all the facts about eating animals, how animals are treated etc they wouldn’t want to add to the cruelty anymore.

Do you support Vegetarianism and or (“something’s better than nothing’s”)?
I’ve heard a lot of people say that their only supportive of vegetarians if it’s a “transition to veganism”. But I personally am supportive of vegetarians, because they are still making a difference to the world by not eating animal flesh. Saying this, I do hope they take the next step in the future.

What is your favorite specialty vegan item? (name as many as you’d like!)
Nudie’s Coconut Yoghurt, So Good’s Almond Frozen Dessert, Amy’s kitchen bean and rice tortilla, vegan sausages (can’t remember brand). But there are many more.

What are your favorite foods? Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 4.39.13 PM
In no particular order…. brussel sprouts, brown rice, roasted chickpeas, spinach, berries, oats, pasta, grapes, red capscium, black beans, SWEET POTATO, every other potato, pistachio’s, pine nuts, avocado sushi, tofu, popcorn. Favorite cuisines: mexican, lebanese, turkish, and japanese.  I could go on forever.

If you’d like to see what I eat on a daily basis follow me on instagram

What is your opinion of the meat and dairy alternatives?
There are some delicious options out there and I think they’re particularly great if you’re feeling to lazy to cook, but also for people who are just transitioning. There are some products that taste weirdly similar to real meat. But generally they need to be eaten in moderation, because they’re still heavily processed and not the best thing for you.

How do you obtain protein?
Easy! Through eating plenty Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 4.40.29 PMof plant based products including nuts, seeds, complex carbs, beans, tofu and so on. There’s many other nutrients that are harder to get then getting enough protein. Don’t even need to think about it really.

What is your opinion about palm oil?
Out of everything this is what I’ve done the smallest amount of research on but I do know that the production of it can result in animals being killed, so I don’t buy anything with palm oil in it. If the majority of vegans say its not ethical for me to eat it, I won’t eat it.

Do you feel judged by other vegans sometimes? How do you deal with it?I
Not really actually. Not yet anyway. 😉 It appears that many vegans do judge what others do. Especially on the internet. But I haven’t had that problem. I personally wouldn’t judge another vegan, whatever type of vegan you are, you have my respect because you’re doing more for the planet, animals, the environment and humanity then you even realise and that’s awesome.

Best vegan resources?
TO READ: Eating Animals by Jonathan SafranScreen Shot 2017-04-27 at 4.45.07 PM Foer
TO WATCH: Earthlings (Netflix), Forks Over Knives (Netflix), Cowspiracy (Netflix), Unnatural Vegan (Youtube), Why Owe You (Youtube), Hot For Food (Youtube), Bonny Rebecca (Youtube)
OTHER WEBSITES: nutritionfacts.org, ilovevegan.com, thevegansociety.com
INSTAGRAM: Type in #vegan #plantbased and you’ll find an insane amount of people to follow. Also I’m @iamsimplyplantbased

Do you enjoy being a vegan?
Absolfuckingletly. It has been quite a journey, but it is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It’s fun to experiment with plant based foods (I discovered I enjoy brussel sprouts after being vegan, who knew!) I enjoy following other vegans on social media and getting inspired. Vegan what I eat in a day’s on youtube give me life. And it just feels amazing doing it, because I know how many ways it helps the world and I’m proud to be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

