Best Things about Winter

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 11.12.43 AM

Winter is a time where people get
more negative, and I’ll admit there are
some things about the colder months of the year which I hate (struggling to leave the house,
getting sick etc)

A lot of people say this is their least
favorite time of year, but this is my
rebuttal. I choose to celebrate the
goodness of the season.

Here are my favorite things about Winter…

 

  1. Endless cups of hot beverages
  2. Burning candles
  3. Baths
  4. Layering
    In my opinion everyone looks better in winter clothing. Layer upon layer with a tiny bit of skin showing, nothing is more stylish than that.
  5. Sweater weather
  6. Boots
  7. Sleep ins
  8. Lazy weekends
  9. Footy season
  10. Scarves & beanies
  11. Sitting in front of the heater or fire
  12. Less bugs around
  13. Green landscapes
  14. Cold air makes it easier to stay awake
  15. Snuggling up in a quilt
    I will admit, I am semi attached to my quilt. Even in summer you will see it wrapped around my body at bedtime. So you can imagine that when winter comes my quilt is my best friend.
  16. Easier to get to sleep
  17. Wearing socks to bed
  18. Long showers
  19. Defrosting in the sun
    That feeling when you’re absolutely freezing and no part of your body feels safe, and then you find a spot in the sun that’s protected from the wind. The greatest feeling ever. (having to move afterwards, not so much.)
  20. Long walks
  21. Vivid lights festival
    This is one of my favorite events of the year. At this time many areas of Sydney are lit up. It’s so beautiful and an inspiring thing to be around.
  22. Soup
  23. Coats
  24. Having the beach all to yourself
    One of my favorite things to do is go to the beach in winter for a walk or simply just to stare out at the ocean and listen to music or a podcast. You can often find a time where it’s just you on the beach. Peace.
  25. Whale watching
  26. Not having to shave or wax as often
    Any female who says they don’t shave or wax as much in the colder months is a liar.
  27. Wearing jeans every day

Header2

Simply Eclare is where I (Emily Simpson) express my thoughts, share the things that bring me joy, give awareness to causes that are dear to me and try to inspire others
to live simply.

Twitter: @emily_cs
Instagram: @simplyeclare

Leave a Reply

