Profile

 

“I am observing and I see a great deal more than you’d imagine. I’m interested in other people’s experiences and inconsistencies…” (From the book Little Women)

 

 


READ

Finally finished reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer and I wrote a review of it! Give it a read here


WATCHED

Orange Is The New Black Season 5
Woah, what an emotional roller coaster of 3 days in prison life. Without spoiling too much the new episodes turn the power shift on it’s head with the prisoners taking part in a riot after their outrage over the inhumane treatment of themselves by the guards.
The murder of beloved inmate Poussay at the end of last series with the prison Warden taking fault away from the guard, was the final straw. It’s not the best season of the show but it’s still entertaining. It’s not as light hearted as past seasons and there’s a bit of a horror/thriller film vibe during parts of the series. Definitely worth a watch if you’re a OITNB fan. Watch it on netflix now.

Good Eatings (youtube)
I haven’t been this inspired by a youtuber in a while. Malin’s video’s are absolutely beautiful. Her style as a videographer, the music in the background, the subject matter she chooses to concentrate on and her what I eat in a day’s are what keeps me coming back. She sometimes stops posting for a while, but she’s well worth subscribing to.

Sophie Ollis (youtube)
She’s a minimalist/vegan based near London. I really enjoyable her style of video’s. She posts both sit down videos and weekly vlogs.


LISTENED TO

Live Planted (podcast)
Alyssa hosts this weekly podcast. It is mainly interviews and they mainly discuss all things veganism. She also has some Q&A’s. Really insightful and a useful resource for anyone early or late in their vegan journey.

Mr A-Z – Jason Mraz (album)

This was my absolute favorite album back in the day and while I listen to some of the songs constantly in recent years I had sort of forgotten how incredible the entire album is. So original, and quirky and sometimes inspiring.

Human – Rag’n’Bone Man (album)
Starting off with the single Human I knew I had to listen to the rest of this album. I’m ashamed to say that I’d never listened to his earlier music. But I will now after listening to this album. What a unique sound and presence this artist has. My favorites include Bitter End, Be The Man, Love You Any Less, Life In Her Yet and Lay My Body Down. Epic.


EXPERIENCED/BOUGHT
Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 12.05.32 PM
Yoga
The past couple of weeks I have been getting back into yoga. My mornings now start with a 10-20 minute session on my Gaiam yoga mat using the Daily Yoga App. I may be a bit sore but afterwards I feel calmer and ready for the day. My posture also feels good and I feel stronger. The benefits to yoga are endless. The Daily Yoga app is great. It’s free to download and you get the basic yoga sessions. But for a small yearly membership you get heaps of yoga sessions, exercises and programs from ones for beginners to advanced yogi’s. Update this is now on cause as I had a cold and hurt my finger. Back on it next week!

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 8.58.55 PM
Winter Magic Festival
There’s nothing more magical then a day in the mountains. Crisp air, sunshine and astonishing scenery. This trip was to attend the annual winter festival in Katoomba. The main street of the town was lined with stalls, food carts (including heaps of vegan options), music and other entertainment. Really big turnout, including many dressed up in loud costumes. Really enjoyable day out.
Cold but enjoyable.

 


CREATED
Blogging
Blog posts for this month include my Favorite Albums, A Book Review, and a List on my Favorite Things About Winter.

Veganizing Things (making vegan versions of popular non-vegan things)

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 8.31.09 PM

 

Banana Chocolate Muffins: I got the recipe from here. Really delicious, and simple to make. Will definitely make these again, but probably without the banana’s.

 

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 8.30.33 PM


Cauliflower Buffalo Wings:
 I got inspiration for the recipe from here. Oh my goodness I can’t begin to explain how amazing these we’re. I used an apple cider vinegar sauce for mine. Somehow the cauliflower ends up with a similar texture to chicken wings.

 


LEARNT
I’ve learned that being busy is extremely important to my mental health. I used to think I liked to have a whole day of doing absolutely nothing, but the truth is I feel really awful after having a day like that. It’s important to have moments when I’m just relaxing and being alone with myself, but in the end we all need a purpose to get up in the morning. Something that we generally have need to do in order to be happy & fulfilled.

Header2

This blog is where I (Emily Simpson) express my thoughts, share the things that bring me joy, give awareness to causes that are dear to me and try to inspire others
to live simply and consciously.

Twitter: @emily_cs
Instagram: @simplyeclare

Leave a Reply

